Washington Grizzly Stadium

Washington-Grizzly Stadium is a 25,203-seat football stadium on the campus of the University of Montana in Missoula. The stadium opened on October 18, 1986 and is home to the University of Montana Grizzlies, a dominant program in Division 1 Football Championship Subdivision.

Washington Grizzly Stadium - December 9, 2011 - Griz vs Northern Iowa. Photo by Todd Goodrich

The stadium is named after construction magnate Dennis Washington, a Montanan who donated $1 million to finance the stadium’s construction in 1985. The stadium opened on October 18, 1986

The stadium’s current seating capacity is 25,203. The stadium has been expanded three times since opening in 1986, most recently in 2008 with an upper deck expansion of 2,000 seats on the east side. The original capacity in 1986 was 12,500 permanent seats on the sidelines with open grass seating behind the end zones, an approximate capacity of 15,000, weather-permitting. Permanent seating for the end zones was installed in 1995, which brought the seating to over 19,000. Corner seating in the north end zone opened in 2003 and the most recent expansion in 2008 to the east grandstand brought the capacity to over 25,000.

Infilled SprinTurf was installed in 2001, and replaced in 2008. For its first fifteen seasons the playing surface was natural grass.

Washington Grizzly Stadium Gallery

Attendance Records:

126,066Eastern WashingtonW 17-14Sept. 17, 2011
226,019Montana StateL 16-21Nov. 20, 2010
325,965Sacramento StateW 28-25Sept. 25, 2010
425,919Northern ColoradoW 55-28Oct. 01, 2011
525,855Cal Poly SLOW 37-23Sept. 10, 2011
625,811Weber StateW 31-10Oct. 31, 2009
725,751Eastern WashingtonW 41-34Oct. 17, 2009
825,744Portland StateW 30-24Oct. 15, 2011
925,726Portland StateW 49-17Sept. 19, 2009
1025,698Western StatW 38-e0Sept. 5, 2009
1125,694Cal Poly SLOW 35-23Oct. 10, 2009
1225,663Western StatW 73-e2Sept. 4, 2010
1325,629Montana StatW 35-e3Nov. 22, 2008
1425,568Idaho StateW 47-28Oct. 9, 2010
1525,486Sacramento StatW 43-e7Oct. 18, 2008
1625,401Weber StateW 45-10Oct. 29, 2011
1725,326Central WashingtonW 38-35Sept. 27, 2008
1825,323Northern ArizonaW 24-21Oct. 23, 2010
1925,231Northern ColoradoW 38-10Sept. 14, 2009
2025,209UC DavisW 29-24Sept. 20, 2008
%d bloggers like this: