• Hi Guest, want to participate in the discussions, keep track of read/unread posts and more? Create your free account and increase the benefits of your eGriz.com experience today!

Official Don Read BLVD Support

chris

Administrator
Staff member
eGriz Club
Our eGriz.com member WopGriz has submitted this idea to the University. If you like the following idea, please make a post in this thread showing your support! I for one think it is an excellent idea!

WopGriz said:
Dear Mr. President George Dennison. My name is Scott and I have been a resident of Missoula since 1984. During my years in this great town I have enjoyed watching our beloved Grizzly Athletic teams. We are very fortunate to have had such great success and support for our teams. Griz football has been our biggest draw and continues to be one of the greatest programs in the county. Of course when I moved here with my family football was kind of an after thought. Basketball was the dominant sport here in Missoula. However two monumental things changed the state of Griz football from ordinary to extraordinary. The first being the construction of Washington-Grizzly Stadium, and the second was the hiring of coach Don Read. Coach Read built us into a national powerhouse, and helped to advance the program to heights that we never imagined. In his tenure here he never had a losing season even though he took over for a losing program, and never once lost to the Bobcats. Oh and you might have heard that he led us to a National Championship with some quarterback named Dickenson.

In lieu of all this I am asking that the University permanently name the road around the stadium Don Read Boulevard in honor of this great coaching legend. This is a tradition in many other parts of the country and I feel it is time that we celebrate this great custom. I know that fans would really enjoy this and it would be a great opprotunity for some great press for the University of Montana and it's football program.